Wrestling

11-22-14 Wrestiling with something massive

Is there anything left to look forward to?

In my 20’s, i was absolutely positive that I would change the world. I would see the nations, i would see dead men come back to life, blind eyes opened and i would make sure my children were a part of this mayhem. I knew i would be a wife, i knew i would be a mother.

No image ever contained just a desk.

I believed without shame in God’s hugeness, wild ability, and insane love. I believed i really was standing on a rock in the middle of that ocean of love, with wave after wave crashing on me, while i stood laughing, surrounded and completely unbroken by His all. I would be a world changer, a fire starter…all of those roles that are prayed over a person in charismatic circles.

In all honesty, i believe these things still. I just feel a bit of shame now. I’ve seen the world and what it contains; soul and dream crushing realities. I know God is bigger than what is in this world. I know that with Him, i am bigger than it too. But i can’t feel it anymore.

I wonder if our 20’s are for shamelessness, and our 30’s are for fear?

Was i cripplingly wrong about myself and the future i imagined, prayed for, fought for, dreamt of and believed in?

This isn’t anything that can be answered. I think it’s just a demon (or a demon and a few of his friends) that needs to be faced. NOW. Before another day passes at the desk i resent with all my heart.

I hope that what i end up being wrong about is this fear. I want hope back. I want naiivete back. I want fearlessness and silliness back. I want to go boldly into unknown parts of this earth and see gates thrown open…to Jesus and me.

I have dreamt of gates in the middle east opening. I have dreamt of finding Jesus there. He was simple and glorious, and he just loved.

Is this wrestling all for a mission that must be recovered? I hope it is.

As i march on, with trembling, further into life, will i get to recover that former glory? Will this episode turn into a blip on the radar that brought about greater humility and taught me to be more shameless than i would have ever imagined 10 years ago? I hope that is the future. I hope it doesn’t take another ten years to realize this season is a different level of that untamed life i long to live.

Published by

Quiet Brilliance

Hello, I'm Maranda Hope. I am an author and poet. I'm an INFJ, and I think in poetry, dance, schedules and lists. I love to write and love to see more of the Father and His love as He leads me to pursue Him through writing. Writing opens up worlds of understanding and questions and enjoyment for me. I hope you enjoy these journeys and you find inspiration and that the Father enjoys you as you learn to enjoy Him too.

One thought on “Wrestling”

Leave a comment